Liverpool wrestlers edged by B’ville at AA meet

Warriors win four titles, but finish 3.5 points behind Bees

— A mere 3.5 points ended up separating the Liverpool wrestling team from earning the Section III Class AA championship Saturday at Cicero-North Syracuse.

Instead, the Warriors, with 222.5 points, finished just behind Baldwinsville, who prevailed with 226 points. Liverpool did finish ahead of host C-NS, who had 192 points for third place in the 11-team field, which reversed the Northstars’ 40-30 win from their regular-season encounter on Jan. 25.

Four different Liverpool wrestlers went to the top. None were more impressive than Pat Carroll-Marsh, who stayed unbeaten at 285 pounds (28-0) with quick pins over Central Square’s Robert Harper (20 seconds), Auburn’s Mike Carbonaro (50 seconds) and, in the finals, Institute of Technology Central’s Raymond Bullock (one minute).

Matt Call won at 170 pounds, edging Randy Martin (Central Square) 5-2 in the semifinals as C-NS’s Andrew Osborne won an 11-10 classic over West Genesee’s Evan Stefano in the other semifinal. Call controlled the title match, shutting out Osborne 7-0.

Mende Cukalevski made the 152-pound final with a 3-1 decision over another C-NS wrestler, Kiel Dyer, and then beat Rome Free Academy’s Josh Knapp 7-4 for the title. Tyler Eason won at 132 pounds, pinning Connor Ross (B’ville) in 2:11 in the semifinals and holding off WG’s Connor Grome in a 5-2 title match.

The Warriors had three other chances in finals. At 120 pounds, though, Nate Hathaway ran right into C-NS’s Tony Battista, who dominated a 12-0 decision, while Joe Pizzuto dropped the 182-pound final to CBA/Jamesville-DeWitt’s Ben Honis 8-2. Casey Guilfoil made his way to the finals at 138 pounds, but never was close against CBA/J-D’s Aaron Benedict in a 16-1 technical fall.

Battista was the Northstars’ lone victor, as it lost four championship matches.

Besides Andrew Osborne’s loss to Call, Drew Dyer (99 pounds) fell to RFA’s Dandre Norman 7-0, Joe Copani (113 pounds) had a 14-1 defeat to B’ville’s Tim Sposato and Matt Mastro, in a close 220-pound title match, had an 8-4 defeat to ITC’s Maurice Russell.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment